top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmi

Synoptic Project Week 2

Updated: Jan 18, 2021

Starting off this week of the Synoptic Project I hadn't yet received a reply from my teacher, so i decided to make a start on the game design document so not only can my team see what I felt was needed but also give them the ability to write into the document as well. All i managed to put on there was the overview of the game idea, an outline for the story section for the story writer to fill out and a start on the gameplay section.

 

After this I wanted to wait for a reply from my teacher, so while I did this I decided to take a break and then continue on the design I had already started in the hopes that it would be used still.

This is a idle pose body base with closed hands for a human male. I can then take this model and design assets on top, keeping to the models shape so animations work. This is what i have started on slightly before having a talk with the teacher about the animations.


Currently I haven't made any faces and focused more on the outfit design that will be used as a race outfit for human males.

 

On friday, 15/01, my group had a meeting with the teacher observing our group about the problems we are facing, what we have done and how to proceed. For myself, it allowed me to find out how exactly i should approach the animations. He has given me 3 tutorials to look at as well as some example games, one being Darkest Dungeon, that i have found some tutorials about as well.


Unfortunately, they seem to also use Spine software like Super Neptunia RPG does so i may not be able to do everything they do within Unity, but i will damn well try my best.

 

Specific areas I have noted down to work on are:

  • Match stick man animation storyboard

  • An asset list

  • Rigging in Unity

  • The designs for 2D characters.

The match stick man animation is something I need to do to have an idea on what animations i need, what poses need to be drawn to help animate these, and to communicate my ideas to the rest of the team as well as my teacher.


The asset list is something I need to create to help show to the person behind the character creator what types of assets we are going to have, and to help keep myself organised.


Doing more work on rigging in Unity will help me get used to how certain aspects of the character will work, specifically how some stretching may need to be done on certain assets otherwise i will need to draw every little thing as a separate asset, which is a memory issue and time issue.


This will mean I need to adapt my style slighty. For example, I can make the inside of the cloak be black which will mean the stretching won't be as visible. I do, however, have to be careful with the colour so that the black doesn't make it seem too close to the screen. Perhaps just a solid shade will work.

 

I will take a slight break now over the weekend, however i will come back prior to next week to do a little bit of extra work just to get back on track.


Unfortunately, due to moving room and upgrading PC on sunday i wasn't able to do some extra work like i wanted to.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page