top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmi

Induction Project - Designing Assets

Updated: Sep 30, 2020

Now I've spent some time designing levels, i want to begin to design the assets that will be used to make the level. I've spent some time thinking about how the level is formed, with the foreground, middle ground, and background, and i now want to design those pieces.

 

I'm going to do the initial sketches on paper and then redraw them digitally later to refine their shape and add colour.

This is a design for how the level could look, with the spawn point on the left and background behind the level. To show the Space theme I've included 2 moons with shooting stars in the sky. I could definitely work on this more to make it look nicer on the eye, but currently this is a good starting point to build from.

 

I've continued to work on it, making the colours be analogous to create a natural harmony and using complimentary colours with the moon and light from the garage spawn point.

Now I'll work on making all these layers be useable as assets in Unity, after that i will design different zone/level pieces and then return to add more detail to this one.

 

Designing floor assets to be useable in unity means you have to take into consideration where you walk, lighting, and how they place together. The above shows floor assets that i put too much detail into and ended up looking unpleasing.

 

The image on the left shows how I decided to change the art style of the level and made floor assets look more appealing.


In the future I'll need to make sure the lines are smooth and not feathered because it causes problems when importing them into unity.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page