top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmi

Induction Project - Level design

Updated: Sep 15, 2020

I decided to spend my time looking closely at how to design a level for a platformer in it's entirety, drawing the background and level together and also adding assests.

I also began to think about what mechanics could be in a level. For example, in this piece i added the spawn point, the garage on the left, and a bridge, which is over the hole in the level.

From here I started to think of how levels can transition between zones, and decided to sketch a cave level.

Looking at the level, and not the other sketches i've done on the page, I've thought of the level you move on and the background behind it. I also drew in a lighter shade a background layer behind the close one to show depth to the level.

I then started to think of ways to interact with the level. The programmer in my group had consulted us about adding a shoot mechanic to the game, to which we agreed could add some depth to the game and allow us to implement ways to interact with the environment.


Shown with the sketch here, I thought of a bridge that you can shoot a button for it to come out. This is something that will need to be thought through with my team as if our character has the ability to jump they would just be able to jump this gap, in which case a larger bridge could be used or a blockage overhead stopping you from jumping would be needed.

I also designed a spawn point in more detail than the one in the first level sketch. It's designed to fit the sci-fi aesthetic, with a metal look and a radio pylon on the roof to send and recieve comms.


 

Research

To get a better understanding of platformer mechanics and level design, i'm going to spend a short period of my time playing a platformer game. The game I have chosen to play is New Super Mario Bros for the DS.

 

Notes:

  • Flowers, bushes, fences, etc on the level

  • Blocks for items

  • Enemies

  • Powerups (Giant, big, flame)

  • Point system

  • Special items (big coins)

  • Items (coins)

  • Lives (Big/Small Mario, 1ups)

  • Timer

  • End Point

  • Slopes that you can slide down

  • Sprint

  • Pipes

  • Different zones in one level

 

Looking at this game has helped me come up with more ideas as well as strengthen some of those i already had. Platformers are defined by their use of jumping and suspended platforms, something Mario has and would be needed in our game to be a true platformer.


This means in-order to fix my bridge problem it would need to have a roof blocking the jump, or a longer bridge that can't be jumped, because the jump mechanic is an essential feature of the game.


Other things that need to be thought about are, the UI, pickups/items, goals, enemies, changes in terrain. The UI, pickups/items, goals and enemies are all things that would need to be decided upon as a group and then designed or implemented, so i can't do these currently. However, changes in terrain as well as different zones are things i can design by myself and then have them implemented in many different ways.

 

I'm going to spend my weekend designing more levels, backgrounds, intractables and assets and also giving colour to them, and also to my already drawn levels and assets.

 

I need to put more time into this and also work faster.

Simple idea for jumps when entering a cave area.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page